Sri Lanka have named a spin-heavy squad for the three-match women’s ODI series against New Zealand at home.

From the 21-member squad that played three ODIs and three T20Is against Bangladesh in April-May, six players failed to make the cut. Those were Kaushini Nuthyangana, Prasadini Weerakkody, Tharika Sewwandi, Rashmi Silva, Malsha Shehani and Sathya Sandeepani. Vishmi Gunaratne and Imesha Dulani, both of whom played in the recent Emerging Teams Asia Cup in Hong Kong, retained their spots. There were no new additions, though.
Udeshika Prabodhani and 20-year-old Kawya Kavindi will share the responsibilty in the seam-bowling department. Kavindi made her ODI debut during the Bangladesh series but her sole appearance was a washed-out game.
The New Zealand series is part of the Women’s Championship. It will be Sri Lanka’s fourth series in the current cycle. With six points from nine games so far, they are placed fifth on the points table while New Zealand are third with eight points from six outings.

The series starts on June 27, with Galle hosting all three matches. It will be followed by three T20Is in Colombo, for which the squad is yet to be announced.

Squad: Chamari Athapaththu (capt), Vishmi Gunaratne, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Anushka Sanjeewani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Kawya Kavindi, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Hansima Karunaratne, Inoshi Fernando, Imesha Dulani, Hasini Perera


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *