Toss South Africa chose to bat vs England

South Africa won the toss and chose to bat in the first of three ODIs against England in Bloemfontein.

Jos Buttler in turn announced an XI littered with noteworthy inclusions. Harry Brook continues on from a breakthrough 2022 with a 50-over debut, his cap presented to him by former Yorkshire teammate David Willey, who also plays. Ben Duckett makes his first appearance in the format since 2016. Dawid Malan will open the batting alongside Jason Roy with Phil Salt ruled out through illness.
It is in the bowling that England have their biggest boost with Jofra Archer returning after almost two years out following elbow and lower back injuries. Like many of his team-mates, he has been tuning up in the SA20, with five matches for MI Cape Town taking eight wickets and bowling with good pace.
Archer lines up for the first time since March 2021 alongside franchise teammate Olly Stone as a dual pace threat to supplement the dual left-arm all-round nous of Sam Curran, the standout of England’s recent T20 World Cup success, and Willey. As ever, Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid provide the spin.
Meanwhile, Temba Bavuma opted for what he described as a “stock standard” South Africa side as they chase World Cup Super League points to earn automatic qualification for the men’s World Cup later this year in India. There is a recall for right-arm seamer Sisanda Magala for his fourth ODI cap, coming in to afford Lungi Ngidi a rest.

Otherwise, Janneman Malan misses out with Bavuma shifting to accompany Quinton de Kock at the top of the order. Then comes an established core of Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram, Henrich Klassen and David Miller. Anrich Nortje, the standout quick at the SA20 with 13 dismissals for Pretoria Capitals, spearheads the bowling attack with Kagiso Rabada.

England: 1. Jason Roy, 2. Dawid Malan, 3. Ben Duckett, 4. Harry Brook, 5. Jos Buttler (capt & wk), 6. Moeen Ali, 7. Sam Curran, 8. Chris Woakes, 9. Jofra Archer, 10. Adil Rashid, 11. Olly Stone

South Africa: 1. Quinton de Kock (wk), 2. Temba Bavuma (capt), 3. Rassie van der Dussen, 4. Aiden Markram, 5. Heinrich Klaasen, 6 David Miller, 7. Wayne Parnell, 8. Kagiso Rabada, 9. Sisanda Magala, 10. Tabraiz Shamsi, 11. Anrich Nortje

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *